Let’s talk about Boobie Juice

So I sent my little blog out to a few friends and family… they all said they loved it. But they also love me, so they’re the ones that would have to clean my shattered confidence off the ground if they said it was bad. I guess we are supposed to take those compliments with a grain of salt, right? Ehh.. I’ll just take it as I’m  super fabulous and funny.. instead just sarcastic and ..fabulous… really? I haven’t changed out of these pjs for 2 days now.. you can decide how fabulous that makes me..

Well, what should I write about today? I guess breastfeeding.. because the first thing my husband said when I told him about starting a blog was, in a half paying attention voice “Let me guess, it’s about breastfeeding.”

–I told him I do other things during the day besides breastfeed.. I also yell at my 3-year-old to stop hitting the dog. I’m a very productive member of society, I swear.–

Back to breastfeeding.. honestly, I’m no expert. BUT I have failed miserably with my first kid and have had 4 weeks of breastfeeding bliss with my 1 month old baby. Let me tell ya.. you really see all the mistakes you made with your first kid once you have another one. Kind of makes me want to start a therapy fund for her when she is older instead of a college fund… only half funny… but seriously thinking about it..

So boobie milk. Making it and getting it into the child may seem umm.. natural is the word everyone likes to use, let’s go with that. Except it sucks because not everything in nature is sweet and nice. Take it from someone who grew up in Florida and has witnessed hurricanes rip apart their neighbors houses. Wait… Did I just compare hurricanes to breastfeeding? Well if you are having a hard time then you might agree with me… I guess we could go over a couple of mistakes I made the first time around and it might make you feel better about not being the only mom in the world to suck at breastfeeding.

When I had my Daughter I was 18 going on 19.. and no, she wasn’t the mistake. Unplanned is a better word, because mistake.. well, I just don’t have enough money in her therapy fund to EVER use that word to describe my little girl.. Being a young mother with no friends with any experience to ask advice from, meant I had no idea what I was doing. I tried my best but the only advice given to me around that time was that I should be going to college to better myself. Not exactly helpful advice because a community college English class doesn’t teach you anything about breastfeeding.

One of the biggest mistakes that led to the demise of my first breastfeeding experience: Pacifiers. I gave my kid a pacifier within an hour of being born. Of course it shut her up, but does it feed her? No. Some  kids like to cluster feed (something I didn’t know with my first kid) and that I was probably missing feedings by pacifying her with a pacifier. Oh and the nipple confusion… Nipple confusion is a BITCH to deal with. My daughter would suck way to aggressively  (that was if I could get the kid to latch). Now, I’m not saying skip the pacifier all together.. just saying give it a week or two so the kid can learn how to boob first.

The second mistake I made was not starting Lanolin from the beginning. What I should have done was pop that baby out and immediately apply this magical nipple cream.. well maybe not that fast but you get the point. Don’t  wait til you are bleeding to start and always put some on before you pump. Once your titties have been toughened up, then you can relax a bit on the preventive measures.

Now for the problem I am having currently 🎉🎉🎉 *wooooooo*… I have a heavy milk let down.. not kidding. It’s  ridiculous. For those of you who don’t  know what that is, it’s when your milk gets all loosey goosey and starts a flowin’. The plan is for the milk to be going into the babe’s mouth, but most of the time it gets  all over your shirt and bra. For most women it’s a dribble.. mine is more like a sprinkler head. My husband  freaked out the first time I showed him milk shooting out of 5 different holes. Exact quote ” I could have gone my whole life without ever seeing your boobs do that”. Meanwhile, I am in the kitchen, getting milk all over everything saying ” My boobs are like milk squirt guns! Pew, Pew!” – We have fun 😊-  Even without my milk letting down I can still get milk to shoot out if I pinch my nipple. It’s great for when my hubby and I are arguing.*Squirt. You’ve been shot.. I win!*

Back to the heavy let down being a problem.. the baby can’t  really handle all that milk shooting off in his mouth. He will unlatch and cough, so then we have to wait for milk to calm its tits and try again. Doesn’t  happen all the time but enough to be inconvenient. That’s pretty much the only issue I have with having an over-supply of milk.

*Helpful tip for a good milk supply: Nurse when ever your baby needs to eat or gets fussy. Even your basic high school economics class goes over supply and demand.. same concept; baby demands milk and your body supplies the milk ( most of the time). That is how I avoided not having a good milk supply my second time around. Now I can pump a solid 8 ozs in 13 minutes and still be able to get more out. I should really hit up the dairy farms and show ole Bessie a thing or two about how to pump out some milk. 🐄

IMG_20151026_095522
Moo Moo

I feel like I should give an inspiring send off  for the struggling moms, like don’t give up because it gets better or whatever. I’ve  read a lot of blogs on breastfeeding and they all say something similar. Sometimes you need more than reassurance from a stranger that things will get better. What you really need is 8 hours of sleep and someone who won’t  be shy about talking about your  boobs and boobie related issues. Feel free to ask me anything, I will do my best to help you or if you don’t want to come to me, kellymom.com is my favorite site for breastfeeding info. They do their research on tons of breastfeeding issues.

Well, for the moment that’s  all I have to say on breastfeeding. I have a feeling you might have thought TMI a couple of times during this post. But, if you can  handle watching a sex scene in a movie you’re watching with your parents, then you can handle reading about breastfeeding. 😉

-Cat

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Boobie Juice

  1. This made me laugh so hard! I had these images in my mind you do not want to see! It was hilarious! I cannot wait to read the new posts and I will be sharing this with my cousin sisters who are new at being mums 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries, I will be sure to let you know, I published my first blog this morning please have a read and let me know your thoughts karina812blog.wordpress.com

        Like

Leave a Reply

